Warrior Babe – Reboot

Wow, time does fly. Well, I haven’t posted since the middle of May. Why? Because I was having trouble sticking to my plan, that’s why. Because I was feeling like a big FAT failure.

What I did right:

I was still attending my Weight Watchers meetings. I was doing the weight lifting routines 3 X week. I walked a 5K on Memorial Day.

What I did poorly:

Crappy eating habits, no cardio, too many empty calories with alcohol.

Fast forward — Reboot!

The Warrior Babe (moi) decided that maybe I needed some additional support in kicking my boo-tay into gear. I explored some of the options both at the YMCA and with the boot camp fitness enterprises that were advertising around the neighborhood.

I found a Boot Camp that did NOT require me to drag my carcass out of bed and exercise at 6 am (we all know that’s NOT going to work for me). And since it was cheaper than the group personal training at the Y, Mark and I decided to give it a try.

Three days a week, 45 minutes of cardio and strength training. I must say that the first week was torturous. Each class started with a short jog — I haven’t jogged/run in years and years. I couldn’t even make it one lap around the shopping center without stopping. My heart rate monitor was pegged at 90 to 100+ % of my max. heart rate.

We did jumping jacks, pushups, the dreaded squat-thrusts… and at the end of 4 weeks I had lost 8 pounds and 2 inches off my butt and waist. A big Thank You to my trainers Travis and Daniel at In the Ring Sports.

I’m now starting the 3rd go around (this was week 10 if we start from day 1 of boot camp). I go by myself 3 days/week. (Mark just didn’t get into it and didn’t want to spend the $$.) The workouts are getting more and more challenging. I think Travis doesn’t feel like he’s earning his pay unless I’m laying on the mat in a puddle of my own sweat barely able to move.

I have improved my cardiovascular health to the point that I can now run a mile without stopping (if I don’t have to go too fast). Plus,  the heart rate monitor is staying in the 80 – 90 % of max range no matter how hard I’m pushing.  I have done 45 pushups in a session and I have had numerous people compliment me on my progress. I got new jeans (size 16) a couple weeks ago and they’re already too big. It’s feeling really good.

I even tried kick boxing this week. It was fun, but now my wrist hurts. Guess I’ll stick to the old fashioned stuff. I still hate squat-thrusts, but I get out there and do it.

I finished a 10K last Saturday — my new personal best time of 1:36. I am signed up for the Silver Comet 1/2 Marathon on Oct. 30. And I’m going to do it and finish strong.

I have 7 weeks until the 1/2 marathon and I’m doing boot camp Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday and running on Tuesday, Friday and Saturday. Sunday I relax, watch football and REST.

I’ll update the measurements as soon as I find my tape measure. Stay tuned.

Maybe next year I can go to Dragon*Con dressed as the Warrior Babe! If I manage to have abs, I will want to show them off, for sure.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

