On Your Mark, Get Set….

In the last post I listed my reasons for wanting to change my lifestyle and my body. Some were kind of vain (looking better) and some were about being healthy. Hey, I’m just being honest here. I do believe that the two things go hand-in-hand. I won’t be healthier if I just crash diet and lose pounds. I need to change my habits to eat healthier and be more active. Then I will look better & feel better. 

My Goals 

I mentioned using the Body for Life 12-week challenge as a framework to get started. I know that I will not reach my ultimate goal in that period of time, but I want to make substantial progress. 

Jillian Michaels

Ultimate Goal, TV's Biggest Loser Jillian Michaels

 

But I need to have some short-term goals for the 12 weeks. Here they are: 

  1. Be able to wear my size 12 jeans (currently in a size 16-18)
  2. Lose at least 18 pounds (1.5 pounds/week)
  3. Reduce body fat by 10% (8.5 lbs of fat)

The Starting Line 

Ok, so I told you I was fat. Now let’s see the numbers. 

Age: 46 (47 in less than a month)
Height: 5′ 5″
Weight: 213.0
BMI: 34.2 (Obese)
Body Fat: 84 lbs
Body Fat Percentage: 39.5% (I’m 40% fat! Yuck!) 

I have a scale that does the body fat and BMI calculations for me. If you want to calculate yours, there are several online, click here to get one. And what do those numbers mean? Here’s the breakdown on the levels:

BMI
Weight Status
Below 18.5
Underweight
18.5 – 24.9
Normal
25.0 – 29.9
Overweight
30.0 and Above
Obese

I found this cool chart that lets you find your BMI, but you can also find out the weight you need to be at to drop to the next level (from obese to overweight, for example). Click the thumbnail to see a lerger version. 

Click to view full sized BMI chart 

That means that I have to get down to 174 (lose 49 lbs!) before I am simply “overweight.” That’s an eye-opener. 

Let’s put all the numbers out there: 

Warrior Babe - Before

Warrior Babe and her cat

 

Neck: 15″
Chest: 44″
Waist: 38.5″
Abdomen: 47.0″
Hips: 46.0″
Thigh: 24.0″
Calf: 16.5″
Ankle: 8.5″
Bicep: 12.75″ 

Wow, that’s big, huge — say it with me: FAT! 

The Before Picture 

I hated doing this. I hated thinking about this. But every success story has to have a Before picture. The ugly truth. I need to take a good, long look at what I’ve let myself become. Remember that I was an athlete? You wouldn’t know from looking at me now. 

Before front

The Before picture, May 2010

 

Before profile
My face is blurred to protect the guilty

 So, official starting date is May 1, 2010.  This is it! I WILL succeed! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Your Mark, Get Set….

  1. SecretAdmirer says:

    You go girl!! You’re an inspiration to all of us rut-residers!

  2. Secret Admirer says:

    Anxiously awaiting the next post!

Leave a Reply

